Ritshidze

South Africa has 7.7 million people living with HIV (PLHIV), more than any other country, as well as one of the world’s highest HIV prevalence rates. Yet we remain dangerously off-track to meet the 90-90-90 targets and incidence rates are far too high—particularly amongst young people.

Of particular concern has been the insufficient pace of scale up of antiretroviral treatment and insufficient quality of programmes, leading to high rates of loss-to-follow-up. South Africa has relatively high rates of knowledge of HIV status—yet amongst those who know their status, fewer are on effective treatment and have successfully suppressed the virus in South Africa than in neighboring countries that have seen more rapid progress. The progress on the UNAIDS 90-90-90 targets by 2018, as estimated by Thembisa 4.2, has been 91%-68%-88%, translating into 62% and 55% of people living with HIV receiving ART and being virally suppressed, respectively. Too many individuals are lost to follow-up before they initiate ART.

Through the establishment of Ritshidze—a community-led monitoring system developed by organisations representing people living with HIV, including the Treatment Action Campaign (TAC), the National Association of People Living with HIV (NAPWA), Positive Action Campaign, Positive Women’s Network (PWN) and the South African Network of Religious Leaders Living with and affected by HIV/AIDS (SANERELA+) and technical support from Health GAP, amfAR and the O’Neill Institute (Georgetown University) —we have begun to more systematically document the failures in quality HIV and TB service delivery, as well as on broader health systems strengthening. This project incorporates other sub-campaigns within monitoring the HIV and TB response, Health Systems Strengthening and Building Local and International Activism.

The coalition has developed a number of tools to do so. Please find the following surveys attached.

Adherence Club Survey (two and six months): adherence-club-facilitator-survey ad-hoc-meeting-questions-1

Ad Hoc Meeting Questions: ad-hoc-meeting-questions-1 

Data Capturer Survey (Two months): data-capturer-2-months

Data Capturer Survey (Six months): data-capturer-6-months

Facility Manager Survey (Two months): facility-manager-2-months

Facility Manager Survey (Six Months): facility-manager-6-months

Individual Testimony Survey: individual-testimony-survey

Observational Survey (Two Months): observational-survey-2-months

Observational Survey (Six Months): observational-survey-6-month

Patient Survey (Two Months): patient-survey-2-months

Patient Survey (Six Months): patient-survey-6-month

PLHIV Survey: people-living-with-hiv-survey

Reflection Form: reflection-form 

 

You can read the white paper titled : “Community-led Monitoring of Services: Building Accountability for HIV Service Quality” here: community-led-monitoring-1.

 

Related Articles