TAC leadership

The Treatment Action Campaign is led by a National Council that meets four times per year. This body is composed of leaders elected by our membership. It has representation from all seven provinces in which the TAC is currently working. 

A second smaller group called the National Office Bearers is responsible for day-to-day political decision making in the organisation. The seven National Office Bearers are also elected by our members. Below are the current National Office Bearers of the TAC.

National Chairperson: Nkhensani Mavasa

 Nkhensani Mavasa is the TAC National Chairperson as well as the General Secretary at Basic Education for All (BEFA) and a Treasurer for the ANC Selbourne Mabund Branch. She has been actively involved with TAC since 2004. She has worked for TAC as a Treatment Literacy Practitioner, National Trainer,SADC Treatment Literacy Coordinator, Provincial Women’s Rights Co-coordinator and District community Health Advocacy Co-ordinator. From 2008 to 2014 she represented TAC at POWA (People Opposing Woman Abuse). She has served both as TAC’s Limpopo Deputy Chair and Provincial Women’s representative. She has participated at the African Commission on women’s and people’s rights. She represents TAC in the people living with HIV sector in the South African National AIDS Council.



National General Secretary: Anele Yawa

 Anele Yawa became a TAC member in 2002. From 2003 to 2005 he was a TAC district organiser in the Nelson Mandela Metro Municipality (Port Elizabeth). In 2008,  he was elected as the Deputy Chairperson of TAC in the Eastern Cape. From 2010 to 2013 he served as TAC’s Eastern Cape Provincial Chairperson and also a member of the National Council of TAC. In July 2013 Anele became TAC’s National Chairperson. Following the resignation of former TAC General Secretary Vuyiseka Dubula in February 2014, he stepped up to lead the organisation in the transition period. As of July 1st 2014 Anele Yawa is officially the General Secretary of the TAC.  He served in the Nelson Mandela Metro Municipality from 2011 to 2014 as a proportional representative councillor stepping down to commit himself full-time to the TAC.   


Deputy Chairperson: Patrick Mdletshe

Patrick Mdletshe is the National Deputy Chairperson of TAC. He is also the Co-Chairperson of the KwaZulu-Natal Provincial AIDS Council as well as Chairperson of civil society within this structure. Patrick currently works as a Field Researcher for SECTION27. His work focuses on working with Provincial AIDS Councils in different provinces, strengthening civil society voice and advising provinces on HIV/AIDS, TB and STIs policies. With the aim of shaping the HIV/AIDS response in South Africa. Patrick is openly living with HIV and regards himself as human rights activist who believes in equality and social justice.




National Deputy Secretary General: Sibongile Tshabalala

Sibongile is the Deputy General Secretary of TAC. She is also the Deputy Chairperson of the Gauteng Provincial AIDS Council. She is openly and proudly living with HIV. She was diagnosed with HIV in 2000 after a long and severe illness. In 2009 she became a member of the TAC Vosloorus branch. In 2012 she was elected as Provincial Chairperson of TAC Gauteng and currently she works as a District Organiser. 




People living with HIV representative: Andrew Mosane
Andrew Mosane is a gay man who is openly living with HIV. He joined TAC in 2003 when he found out that he was HIV positive and needed to access treatment. Born and raised in Garankuwa, Andrew describes himself as an “activist at heart”. Andrew is presently working on the stigma index survey and serves on a number of community structures including the ward committee for social development.




Ex officio member: Mark Heywood 

Mark Heywood is the Executive Director of the public interest law centre SECTION27 (incorporating the AIDS Law Project). He was elected as the Deputy Chair of the South African National AIDS Council in 2007 (he stepped down in 2012). In 2009, he was appointed as a member of the Ministerial Advisory Committee on National Health Insurance. He has written extensively on HIV, human rights and the law. He has been part of legal teams of the ALP, TAC and SECTION27 that were involved in major litigation around HIV and other human rights issues in South Africa. Mark has been part of TAC’s top leadership since the early days of the organisation.


The political structures are supported by the TAC’s operational structures – in the form of an executive committee that takes responsibility for day-to-day management and a staff complement organised into a national and seven provincial offices. To ensure proper governance and financial accountability all of this is overseen by an independent Board of Directors.

Qondisa C. Ngwenya (Chairperson) 

Katherine Jane Barrett 

Mbuyiselo A. Botha

Eric A. Goemaere

Moray H. Hathorn 

Thembeka T. Gwagwa

Nawej Ntambw (Treasurer)

Mark J. Heywood

Vuyiseka Dubula-Majola 

Anele B. Yawa